
COORDINATING SICK AND ANNUAL LEAVE WITH WORKERS’ COMPENSATION FOR 2022 
 

Section 8-11-145 of the South Carolina Code of Laws provides that an employee may use sick and annual leave in conjunction 
with Workers’ Compensation benefits according to a formula to be developed by the South Carolina Department of 
Administration. 
 
Currently, Workers’ Compensation will pay 66 2/3 percent of an employee’s average weekly gross pay up to a maximum of 
$963.37 per week. The total benefit received during a regular payroll period is less than the average net or take-home pay 
that an employee would receive if a regular payroll check was issued subject to taxation. 
 
The purpose of this formula is to allow employees to maintain the level of spendable income that was being received prior 
to an injury. This can be accomplished by permitting the employee to elect to use a reduced amount of leave time. 
 
The table shows a constant pay period gross amount of $180.58 for those employees whose salaries fall between $15,080 
and $75,999 per year. This is due to the fact that the difference between Workers’ Compensation benefits and regular pay 
remains the same until the maximum Workers’ Compensation benefit is reached. The $963.37 per week is approximately 66 
2/3 percent of a $75,999 annual salary. At this point, the shortfall in spendable income begins to increase. 
  
The following formula and table were developed to assist agencies in calculating appropriate leave charges that will, when 
added to the Workers’ Compensation benefits, equate closely to the net pay an employee would receive in a regular net 
paycheck if at work. For those agencies on the South Carolina Enterprise Information System (SCEIS), you can find 
information at https://uperform.sc.gov/gm/folder-1.11.14381 on how to process an employee’s Leave of Absence under 
Workers’ Compensation Option 3. 

 
AMOUNT OF LEAVE TO BE CHARGED PER PAY PERIOD – 2022 

 
Hourly Rate  =  Annual Salary   
                           Base Hours (1950 or 2080)  

Leave Time  = Pay Period Gross  
                         Hourly Rate Per Pay Period 

SALARY RANGE 
Pay 

Period 
Gross 

  SALARY RANGE 
Pay 

Period 
Gross 

$15,080  - $75,999  $180.58   $94,000  - $94,999  $836.23 

$76,000  - $76,999  $213.66   $95,000  - $95,999  $875.91 

$77,000  - $77,999  $246.76   $96,000  - $96,999  $915.84 

$78,000  - $78,999  $279.84   $97,000  - $97,999  $955.99 

$79,000  - $79,999  $313.54   $98,000  - $98,999  $996.17 

$80,000  - $80,999  $347.55   $99,000  - $99,999  $1,036.34 

$81,000  - $81,999  $381.58   $100,000  - $100,999  $1,076.52 

$82,000  - $82,999  $415.61   $101,000  - $101,999  $1,116.70 

$83,000  - $83,999  $449.69   $102,000  - $102,999  $1,156.85 

$84,000  - $84,999  $484.09   $103,000  - $103,999  $1,197.06 

$85,000  - $85,999  $518.44   $104,000  - $104,999  $1,237.20 

$86,000  - $86,999  $552.83   $105,000  - $105,999  $1,277.38 

$87,000  - $87,999  $587.20   $106,000  - $106,999  $1,317.54 

$88,000  - $88,999  $621.86   $107,000  - $107,999  $1,357.72 

$89,000  - $89,999  $656.58   $108,000  - $108,999  $1,397.91 

$90,000  - $90,999  $691.30   $109,000  - $109,999  $1,438.06 

$91,000  - $91,999  $726.06       

$92,000  - $92,999  $760.90       

$93,000  - $93,999  $796.52      
 

                                            

https://uperform.sc.gov/gm/folder-1.11.14381

